Annotum JATS-CON Demo Video [and fresh new code!]

· Site Updates
Authors

Get the latest code

Before I get to the JATS-CON bit, I’d like to remind everyone that the Annotum code base is getting updated very frequently, with significant improvements being made all the time. Why not download the latest code [zip or tarball] and give it a try? Questions and bug reports are always welcome on Github.

JATS-CON: Video and more

This week I presented a paper to JATS-CON, a convention on the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) Journal Article Tag Suite, or JATS. Specifically, the Journal Publishing Tag Set, aka the Journal Publishing DTD 3.0 forms the basis for Annotum’s underlying XML DTD, a subset of the Journal Publishing DTD called Kipling.

And if you thought that was a lot of XML esoterica, and liked that, you should have been at JATS-CON!

Jeff Beck, the JATS-CON organizer, graciously invited me to submit a paper on Annotum for this year’s JATS-CON, as well as to present a few slides and provide a short demo of Annotum.

I’m not generally a big fan of live software demos in front of large groups — too often minor problems distract from the message. In this case, the first problem was that the projector simply wouldn’t work with the output of my ThinkPad. For some reason, the image appeared exactly correctly on the lectern monitor, but was significantly oversized on the projection screen. Since a lot of the “action” in Annotum takes place on the sides of the page, that wouldn’t do. After a bit of mucking about with resolution settings, I hit upon the idea of using the join.me screen-sharing service to project my laptop’s screen over WiFi to the in-room PC. Did I mention that the demo relies on working, running copies of Apache, MySQL, PHP, and WordPress on the same Laptop?

Those of you who have done live demos of dev code are, at this point, experiencing some of the excitement I was feeling as we got join.me set up and I prepared to use two keyboards to control both the demo any my presentation. How did it go? Judge for yourself: check out the YouTube video below.

Feel free to skip to the good parts:

There’s also a slideshow of the presentation available on Slideshare for those so inclined.

